The Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica António Xavier is a scientific research and advanced training institute of the Universidade NOVA de Lisboa. The ITQB NOVA is located in the Town of Oeiras, at the Tagus river mouth, just outside Lisbon. Since 1996 it has occupied a building inside the campus of the National Agricultural Station, an R&D institution of the Ministry of Agriculture. Some facilities are located in two other buildings, one belonging to the Agricultural Station and the other to the neighbouring Gulbenkian Institute.


The Faculty of Sciences and Technology, Campus of Caparica, is one of the most prestigious Portuguese engineering and science public schools and it is engaged in extensive research activity developed in 16 research centres involving 1600 PhD and Master’s students of the total enrolment of 7800. With a total of 550 academic staff (90% holding a Ph.D) and 180 non-academic staff, FCT NOVA is organized in 14 departments and 14 support services. FCT NOVA partners with foreign universities such as the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), the University of Carnegie Mellon and the University of Texas at Austin to offer some of its advanced study programs. The entrepreneurial drive of the students and graduates of FCT NOVA has led to many successful spin-offs that transfer knowledge to the market and help create value and social impact.


Created in 1989 the Instituto de Biologia Experimental e Tecnológica (iBET) is a private non profit research intensive SME. As a Biotechnology Research Organisation iBET acts as an interface between academic institutions while also creating and organising autonomous knowledge and expertise. iBET brings together, as partners and collaborators, private companies and public institutions, organising competences for product and process development, of which the most relevant is, Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica, ITQB / Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia (FCT/UNL).


The architecture of the Faculty of Sciences R&D System, which was reorganised as from the beginning of 2015 following the FCT assessment process that started in 2013, has a complex structure in regards to the relationship between units and departments or to the participation of other external R&D entities. Research is organised in R&D multi-departmental units, named centres, laboratories and institutes. Some units have been merged with Associated Laboratories (Instituto Dom Luiz) or other higher education institutions. Several dozen researchers also work with other units that are not associated with the Faculty of Sciences. Besides the units associated with the FCT, the Faculty of Sciences also has Knowledge and Technology Transfer units whose funding is fully raised through R&D and engineering agreements, as well as some functionally independent R&D units that operate within different Departments. The Foundation of the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Lisbon manages the majority of R&D projects and agreements.

Universidade do Minho

The University of Minho (UMinho) is undoubtedly a university of research. That can be seen in the position the university occupies in the most important international rankings, such as the Leiden Ranking, which is the main bibliometric ranking associated with scientific research. Other important rankings in which the University of Minho is well-positioned are the Times Higher Education (THE) ranking, both in their global ranking and in the THE ranking of universities under-50 years old. The university represents already 9% of the Portuguese scientific system, nearing 10%. This figure is higher than the number of researchers that the university represents on a national ratio. In 2015, UMinho published 1642 articles, which are listed in the ISI Web of Science (an increase of 20%, compared to 2014), and has 1997 articles listed in Scopus (an increase of 10%, compared to 2014).

Universidade de Aveiro

The University of Aveiro is a public institution committed to high quality undergraduate- and post-graduate teaching and provides innovative research in fundamental and applied areas of knowledge while actively contributing to the social and economic development of the country and of Europe. Founded in 1973, University of Aveiro has now almost 15,000 students in 16 Departments and 4 Polytechnic Schools. The research output and publishing impact per number of academic staff at UA is one of the best in Portugal.

Universidade de Coimbra

The Faculty of Sciences and Technology is the major faculty within the University of Coimbra, an indisputable reference in higher education and research in Portugal, due to the quality of the courses taught and to the advances achieved in pure and applied research in various areas of knowledge.

Universidade do Porto

With origins dating back to the eighteenth century, the University of Porto is currently the largest education and research institution in Portugal. Close to 31,000 students, 2,300 teachers and researchers along with 1,700 administrative staff attend its 15 schools and 69 scientific research units, spread across 3 university campuses located in the city of Porto.